do people like new live music anymore?

Do people like listening to new music live anymore? It’s a very interesting question I have played quite a few gigs now and in my own personal experience I would say 70 percent of the time no they do not. I recently played a set with a green day tribute and the two bands who supported them including my own pretty much played all original music and we got hardly any reaction from the crowd at all despite the fact both bands were good and put on a great show. In fact the only big cheer my band got was when we done a cover of Jimmy eat worlds the middle.

I have had similar experiences during other gigs as well it seems to me these days people only want to hear songs they already know and are frightened to try something new. Unless they have heard the songs previously or been force fed them by the media they aren’t interested or bothered about hearing new music. Obviously this isn’t me painting everyone with the same brush here there are some people out there who love to hear new sounds it just appears that these days the majority of people have gotten lazy when it comes to music and only enjoy stuff if they have heard it before.

I however refuse to sell my soul to the covers industry we do have a few covers in my band just too carry things along but I am not willing to give up my original music whether people react to it or not.My bands set will always be mostly original material . I will never bow to the masses and let us turn into a full covers band that just isn’t me. T

2 thoughts on “do people like new live music anymore?

  1. I have heard that people form their taste in music as teenagers/young adults. Unless they are professional musicians or incredibly drawn to music, they tend to cleave to the hits from that time of their life. Even worse, there are certain universal songs that everyone shares (thanks to popular culture, and/or neurochemistry) and only a limited amount of processing space beyond that. 30% appreciation sounds great–that’s probably what most superstars had before their music went out through mass communication….

Leave a Reply

